home page

Merton Bernfield Memorial Award

Formerly the Member Memorial Award
For Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows

The Award was established with member donations in memory of Merton Bernfield. The winner will be selected on merit, will be invited to speak in an Annual Meeting Minisymposium, and will receive financial support. Nominators must be ASCB members.

Who is Eligible:

An outstanding graduate student or postdoctoral fellow (at the time of nomination) who has excelled in research.

How to Apply:

The student or postdoc or his or her advisor should submit a one-page research statement, a CV, a list of publications, a copy of the abstract submitted to the current year’s Annual Meeting, and the advisor’s letter of recommendation. Postdocs may also submit the recommendation of their graduate student advisor. Duplicate applications from graduate students may be submitted for the Gilula and Bernfield Memorial Awards. Nominators must be ASCB members.


The winner is presented a plaque, is given financial support, and will speak at a Minisymposium at the Annual Meeting. Expenses to attend the Annual Meeting are paid.


July 15 (electronic submission preferred; please send email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">)

Past Awardees

2014 - Prasanna Satpute-Krishnan
2013 - Panteleimon Rompolas
2012 - Ting Chen and Gabriel Lander
2011 - Dylan Tyler Burnette
2010 - Hua Jin
2009 - Chad G. Pearson
2008 - Kenneth Campellone
2007 - Ethan Garner
2006 - Lloyd Trotman
2005 - Stephanie Gupton
2004 - Chun Han
2003 - Erik Dent
2002 - Christina Hull
2001 - Sarah South and James Wohlschlegel


facebook twitter1 youtube linkedin