home page

Early Career Life Scientist Award

Who is Eligible:

An outstanding scientist who has served as an independent investigator for no more than seven years as of April 1.

How to Apply:

Provide a nominating package that includes a CV, brief research statement, nominating letter, and no more than three letters of support (at least one of which must come from outside the nominee’s institution). Nominators must be ASCB members.


The winner is presented a plaque and a monetary prize and will speak in a Minisymposium at the Annual Meeting. Expenses to attend the Annual Meeting are paid.


April 1 (electronic submission to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

Past Awardees

2014 - Manuel Théry
2013 - Douglas B. Weibel
2012 - Iain Cheeseman
2012 - Gia Voeltz
2011 - Maxence V. Nachury
2010 - Anna Kashina
2009 - Martin W. Hetzer
2008 - Arshad B. Desai
2007 - Abby Felicia Dernburg
2006 - Karsten Weis
2005 - Eva Nogales
2004 - No award this year
2003 - Frank Gertler
2002 - Kathleen Collins and Benjamin Cravatt
2001 - Daphne Preuss
2000 - Erin O'Shea
1999 - Raymond Deshaies

facebook twitter1 youtube linkedin